Gå till innehåll

LKAB Malmberget

Visit LKAB's iron ore mine in Malmberget and get an insight into one of Sweden's most important industries. The mining process is presented at LKAB's research and visitor center before the bus journey descends 1250 meters underground. On this mine tour, you'll get straight down and right into the production.

On an average day all year around, iron ore equivalent in steel to around six Eiffel Towers is mined in LKAB´s operation.

All mine tours are held in English. If no English-speaking visitors participate on a specific date, the tour will be in Swedish.

  • Week 26
    • Monday 24 June
    • Tuesday 25 June
    • Wednesday 26 June
  • Week 27
    • Monday 1 July
    • Tuesday 2 July
    • Wednesday 3 July
    • Thursday 4 July
    • Friday 5 July
  • Week 28
    • Monday 8 July
    • Tuesday 9 July
    • Wednesday 10 July
    • Thursday 11 July
  • Week 29
    • Monday 15 July
    • Tuesday 16 July
    • Thursday 18 July
    • Friday 19 July
  • Week 30
    • Monday 22 July
    • Tuesday 23 July
    • Wednesday 24 July
  • Time: departure at 08:00, finish around 11:30
  • Start and end location: Gällivare Tourist Center/Train Station - address: Centralplan 4, Gällivare
  • Price (adult): 400 SEK
  • Price (youth, student, senior): 300 SEK
  • Number of participants: Minimum 3 people per mining tour
  • Duration: About 3,5 hours
  • Important information: The age limit is 12 years. Youth price applies from 12-17 years.
    Students must present a student card. Senior from age 65
  • Seat reservation: Made to Gällivare Tourist Center by emailing info@visitgallivare.se or calling
    +46 (0)970-102 20, no later than 14:30 the day before the mine tour
    Provide the following information about all participants:
    • First and last name
    • Phone number
    • Language
    • E-mail (only for booking manager per party)
  • Payment: Card payment at Gällivare Turistcenter no later than 14:30 the day before the mine tour.

LKAB is responsible for safety during the mining tours and has accident insurance covering visitors. However, it does not cover damage to private property during the visit. LKAB determines the times for the mining tours, which can be changed or cancelled without prior notice. Force majeure: neither LKAB nor Gällivare Tourist Center is responsible for damage caused by the action of authorities, war events, riots, general shortage of means of transport, general shortage of goods, labour market conflict, or other events beyond the company’s control. In such a situation, LKAB and Gällivare Tourist Center must limit operational and financial consequences.

Good to know before the mining trip:

  • Visitors must show valid identification during the mine tour. Participants who cannot present identification will be denied entry.
  • All mine tours are held in English. If no English-speaking visitors participate on a specific date, the tour will be in Swedish.
  • Visitors must be fluent in Swedish, English, or Spanish and be able to provide identification.
  • LKAB equips visitors with suitable protective clothing.
  • The temperature in the mine is always between 8–18 degrees Celsius.

You can find more information about LKAB's mining operations at www.lkab.com External link, opens in new window.

Information

Fyll på med information om företaget(denna rad visas bara i redaktörsläge)

Address

Centralplan 4, 982 36 Gällivare External link, opens in new window.

Phone

+46 (0)970-102 20

E-mail

info@visitgallivare.se

Sidinformation

Senast uppdaterad:
2024-05-14
Publicerad:
2024-01-18